

Committees and Their Purposes - Indian Polity

List of Committees and their Purposes

Committees and commissions are formed for studying a problem or issue, and then making recommendations to resolve the issue. The government can either accept or reject the findings/recommendations of the committee.

We have come up with detailed recommendations of a few important committees for your reference.

Name of Committee/Commission	Purpose
Abhijeet Sen Committee	Formulating food policy in a long term
Abid Hussain Committee	Small scale industries and Trade Policy Reform
Chakravarty Committee	Monetary policy
G V Ramakrishna Committee	Disinvestment
JJ Irani Committee	Company laws and formation of the new Companies Act of India
Kelkar Committee	Assessment of PPP in India and Tax Structure Reforms
Raja Chelliah Committee	Tax reforms in India
Khusro Committee	Agricultural Credit System
Sarkaria Commission	Relationship and power balance between the Centre and States
Malegam Committee	Microfinance
Narasimhan Committee	Banking Reforms
Mckinsey Report	Merger Of seven Associate Banks with State Bank of India
Suresh Tendulkar Committee	Methodology of estimation of poverty
Tarapore Committee	Capital Account Convertibility
A Ghosh committee	Malpractices in banks
Y B Reddy Committee	Assessing Of Income Tax Rebates
Bhagwati Committee	Unemployment and Public Welfare
C Rao Committee	Agricultural policy
Dharia Committee	Public Distribution System
Rangarajan Committee	Computerization Of Banking Industry and Public Sector Disinvestment

https://byjus.com

BYJU'S The Learning App	
Lodha committee	To recommend reforms for cricket in India
Raghunath Anant Mashelkar panel	To suggest the best technologies for Swachl Bharat Abhiyaan
K V Kamath Panel	To examine the MSME sector
Bibek Debroy Committee	Railway restructuring
Justice B. M Shah Committee	Black money
A C Shah Committee	Non-Banking Financial Company
Ajit Kumar Committee	Army pay scales
Athreya Committee	Restructuring of IDBI
Bhurelal Committee	Increase in Motor Vehicle Tax
Bimal Jalan Committee	Report on the working of capital market infrastructure institutions (MIIs)
Chandra Shekhar Committee	Venture Capital
Dave Committee	Pension Scheme for Unorganized Sector
Deepak Parekh Committee	Financing Infrastructure through PPP mod
Hanumant Rao Committee	Fertilisers
Janakiramanan Committee	Securities Transactions
Kasturirangan Committee	Draft National Education Policy
Kothari Commission	To examine all aspects of the educational sector in India
Kumaramangalam Birla Report	Corporate Governance
N.N. Vohra Committee	Relations (Nexus) Of Politicians with Criminals
Radha Krishnan Commission (1948)	Establishment of the University Grant Commission
K. Santhanam Committee	Establishment of CBI
Shivaraman Committee (1979)	Establishment of NABARD
Swaminathan Commission (2004)	To find the problems faced by the farmers
Balwantrai Mehta Committee (1957)	Panchayati Raj Institutions
Justice A.K Mathur Commission	7th Pay Commission
Vaghul Committee	Money market in India



UPSC Questions Related to Committees and their Purposes

How many committees are there in Parliament?

The Parliament constitutes many committees to perform its myriad functions. Permanent committees are called Standing Committees, while Ad-hoc committees are made for a specific purpose, and these cease to exist after their mandate is completed.

What is Select Committee in India?

Some committees, formed by the Parliament are 'select', that is, formed for a specific purpose, like to deliberate on a certain bill. When the Bill is disposed of, that select committee will no longer exist.

How many committees are there in India?

In the Parliament, there are 24 Department-related Standing Committees.