Difference between NITI Aayog and Inter-State Council is explained here in detail.

The NITI Aayog (National Institution for Transforming India) is a policy think tank established on 1st January, 2015 by the Government of India. "15-year Road map", "7- year vision, strategy and action plan" are some of its initiatives.

Inter-State Council was set up in 1990 through a Presidential Ordinance for the first time as per the recommendations of the Sarkaria Commission under the Ministry of Home affairs.

Aspirants would find this article very helpful while preparing for the Indian Polity segment of IAS Exam.



The major differences between NITI Aayog and Inter-State Council are:

NITI Aayog	Inter-State Council
NITI Aayog is an Executive Body as it was formed by an action of Government and it	The Inter-State Council is a non-permanent constitutional body set up by a Presidential

does not derive its powers from the Constitution of India, and neither is it a Statutory body as it is not established by an Act of Parliament. However if needed it can be converted into a Statutory Body by passing a Law in Parliament, an example is UIDAI.	Order on the basis of provisions in Article 263 of the Constitution of India.
NITI Aayog was established on 1st January, 2015.	The Inter State Council was formed on May 28, 1990.
NITI Aayog has not been given the mandate or powers to impose policies on States. NITI Aayog is basically a think-tank or an advisory body to the Government. It formulates policies by consulting the State Governments.	The Inter State Council was formed to enhance the coordination between the Center and States. It is the most dynamic platform to discuss policies, strengthen the Centre- State relations and act as a bridge to the trust deficit between the Center and the States.
Under NITI Aayog organisation structure new posts were created - CEO, Vice-Chairperson. CEO has the rank of a Secretary. Four Cabinet members would serve as ex-officio members. NITI Aayog has two-part time members and five full-time members. The CEO is appointed by the Prime Minister.	The Prime Minister of India is the Chairman of the Inter State Council. Members of the Inter State Council are Union Ministers of Cabinet rank in the Union, Council of Ministers nominated by the Prime Minister, Chief Ministers of all states, Chief Ministers of Union Territories having a Legislative Assembly and Administrators of UTs not having a Legislative Assembly.

After learning about the differences between NITI Aayog and Inter State Council, visit the below-given links for better understanding of Inter State Council, NITI Aayog and other related information.

- Inter State Council Members, Functions
- NITI Aayog A Complete Overview
- NITI Aayog Strategy for New India @ 75
- Planning Commission of India A Complete Overview
- Difference between NITI Aayog and Planning Commission
- Constitutional, Statutory and Quasi-Judicial Bodies
- Indian Polity Notes for UPSC Examination

Before making concrete plans for the Civil Services exam, candidates should have a thorough knowledge pertaining to the Syllabus of UPSC.

Related Links

IAS Salary	Static GK
List of Union Ministers	Tributaries of Narmada
Exim Bank India	Economic Survey pdf
What is FATF	School Fitness Khelo India Programme