

McMahon Line - Important Facts about McMahon Line

McMahon Line is the effective boundary between China and India and the line is named after Sir Henry McMahon, foreign secretary of the British-run Government of India and the chief negotiator of the convention at Simla. The topic, 'McMahon Line' comes under History (GS-I) syllabus of the IAS Exam. This article will help you know:

- When was McMahon Line drawn?
- Where is the McMahon Line?
- Who was McMahon?

What is McMahon Line?

The McMahon Line got its significance when Indian and Tibet signed a convention at Shimla on 3rd July 1914.

Where is McMahon Line?

The boundary extends for 550 miles (890 km) covering parts from Bhutan in the west to 160 miles (260 km) east i.e the Brahmaputra River. It largely covers the crest of the Himalayas.

As per facts, Shimla (along with the McMahon Line) was initially rejected by the Government of India as incompatible with the 1907 Anglo-Russian Convention.

This is an important topic for UPSC Prelims, Mains exam and other government exams.

Interesting Facts about McMahon Line

- 1. The McMahon Line was a negotiation between India and Tibet without the participation of the Chinese government.
- 2. Chinese delegate Ivan Chan was not an authorized member during the McMahon line negotiation.
- 3. The last Indian village Bishing, is closest to the McMahon Line, and it demarcates the boundary between China's Tibet region and Arunachal Pradesh. The Memba tribe which has a population of 100 stays in that village.
- 4. The Tawang region of Arunachal Pradesh was earlier known as South Tibet before the demarcation.
- 5. In 1950, Tibet lost its status as an independent territory and India took control over Tawang.

To know more about important boundaries and lines of the world, check the linked article.

Questions & Answers on McMahon Line for UPSC

The table below mentions some quick questions and answers on Mcmahon Line:

McMahon Line		
Where is McMahon Line located?	The Mcmahon Line is a line of demarcation between India and China.	



What is the difference between LAC and McMahon Line?	LAC is Line of Actual Control is the borderline between China and India in the western sector of the borderland between India's Ladakh and China McMahon Line is a borderline between China and India i.e. China-occupied territory of the East-Himalayan region and the Indian regions; which India considers to be the actual line of control while China rejects it.	
McMahon Line was determined by who?	Sir Henry McMahon who was the foreign secretary of the British government determined the McMahon Line	
What is the length of McMahon Line?	It is 890 km long	
What is the role of the Simla Treaty of 1914 in determining McMahon Line?	In 1914, India and Tibet signed the Simla Treaty to have a clear boundary (McMahon Line) between India and Tibet. Following this agreement, the Tawang Region and Southern Part of Tibet were considered to be a part of British India.	

Related Links:

Language Papers in UPSC – Tips to Study	UPSC Books
CSAT Mock Test	UPSC Admit Card
UPSC Syllabus	How to Study History for IAS?