

## **Dadasaheb Phalke Awards**

The Dadasaheb Phalke Awards is the highest award in cinema. It is annually presented at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals.

The award is named after Dhundiraj Govind Phalke, popularly known as Dadasaheb Phalke. Dadasaheb Phalke is regarded as the 'father of Indian cinema'.

In the 2021 edition of the Dadasaheb Phalke Awards Deepika Padukone received the best actress award for her film Chhapaak while Akshay Kumar got the awards for fis performance in the film Laxmi.

This article will give details about Dadasaheb Phalke Awards within the context of the IAS Exam

## Brief facts about Dadasaheb Phalke

Ddasheb Phalke was a producer-director-screenwriter who made India's first feature-length film, Raja Harishchandra in 1913. He made 95 feature-length films and 27 short films in his career, spanning 19 years, until 1937, including his most noted works: Mohini Bhasmasur (1913), Satyavan Savitri (1914), Lanka Dahan (1917), Shri Krishna Janma (1918) and Kaliya Mardan (1919).

His contributions to India cinema was legendary and thus was the reason why the Indian government instituted an award in his honour.

## Recipients of the Dadasaheb Phalke Awards

The following table gives the list of winners of the Dadasaheb Phalke Awards through the years

Dadasaheb Phalke Awards Recipients (1969-1979)		
Year	Recipient	Film Industry
1969	Devika Rani	Hindi
1970	Birendranath Sircar	Bengali
1971	Prithviraj Kapoor	Hindi
1972	Pankaj Mullick	<ul><li>Hindi</li><li>Bengali</li></ul>
1973	Ruby Myers (Sulochana)	Hindi
1974	Bommireddy Narasimha Reddy	Telugu



1975	Dhirendra Nath Ganguly	Bengali
1976	Kanan Devi	Bengali
1977	Nitin Bose	Bengali Hindi
1978	Raichand Boral	<ul><li>Hindi</li><li>Bengali</li></ul>
1979	Sohrab Modi	Hindi

The following table gives the list of winners from 1980-1989

Dadasaheb Phalke Awards Recipients (1980-1989)		
Year	Recipient	Film Industry
1980	Paidi Jairaj	Hindi Telugu
1981	Naushad	Hindi
1982	L. V. Prasad	<ul><li>Hindi</li><li>Tamil</li><li>Telugu</li></ul>
1983	Durga Khote	<ul><li>Hindi</li><li>Marathi</li></ul>
1984	Satyajit Ray	Bengali
1985	V. Shantaram	<ul><li>Hindi</li><li>Marathi</li></ul>
1986	B. Nagi Reddy	Telugu
1987	Raj Kapoor	Hindi
1988	Ashok Kumar	Hindi
1989	Lata Mangeshkar	Hindi Marathi

The following table gives the list of winners from 1980-1989



Dadasaheb Phalke Awards Recipients (1990-1999)		
Year	Recipient	Film Industry
1990	Akkineni Nageswara Rao	Telugu
1991	Bhalji Pendharkar	Marathi
1992	Bhupen Hazarika	Assamese
1993	Majrooh Sultanpuri	Hindi
1994	Dilip Kumar	Hindi
1995	Rajkumar	Kannada
1996	Sivaji Ganesan	Tamil
1997	Kavi Pradeep	Hindi
1998	B. R. Chopra	Hindi
1999	Hrishikesh Mukherjee	Hindi

The following table gives the list of winners from 2000-2010

Dadasaheb Phalke Awards Recipients (2000-2009)		
Year	Recipient	Film Industry
2000	Asha Bhosle	Hindi Marathi
2001	Yash Chopra	Hindi
2002	Dev Anand	Hindi
2003	Mrinal Sen	Bengal Hindi
2004	Adoor Gopalakrishnan	Malayalam
2005	Shyam Benegal	Hindi
2006	Tapan Sinha	Bengali Hindi



2007	Manna Dey	Bengali Hindi
2008	V. K. Murthy	Hindi
2009	D. Ramanaidu	Telugu

The following table gives the list of winners from 2010-2019

Dadasaheb Phalke Awards Recipients (2010-2018)		
Year	Recipient	Film Industry
2010	K. Balachander	
2011	Soumitra Chatterjee	Bengali
2012	Pran	Hindi
2013	Gulzar	Hindi
2014	Shashi Kapoor	Hindi
2015	Manoj Kumar	Hindi
2016	K. Viswanath	Telugu
2017	Vinod Khanna	Hindi
2018	Amitabh Bachchan	Hindi
2019	Mahesh Babu	Telugu
2020	Hrithik Roshan	Hindi