

Parts of the Indian Constitution [UPSC Polity Notes]

The Constitution of India, its Parts, Schedules, and Articles are very important topics for the UPSC exam. It is a crucial part of the polity section of the <u>UPSC syllabus</u>. IAS aspirants must be aware of the Parts of the Indian Constitution and the corresponding Articles as well if they are to clear the IAS exam. In this article, you can learn about the Parts of the Indian Constitution.

Parts of the Indian Constitution

The Indian Constitution has 25 Parts and 12 Schedules which encompass 448 Articles. The Constitution of India was adopted by the <u>Constituent Assembly</u> on 26 November 1949 and then came into force on 26 January 1950.

The original Constitution had 395 Articles in 22 Parts and 8 Schedules. Later, four more Parts, four more Schedules and more Articles were added (1 Part was later repealed). Also, there have been 104 Amendments to the Indian Constitution (as of January 2020).

For more on the Indian Constitution and related topics, please check the links in the table below.

Constitution of India	Types of Amendments in Indian Constitution
Important Amendments of Indian Constitution	Sources of Indian Constitution
Preamble to the Indian Constitution	12 Schedules of the Indian Constitution
Important Articles of Indian Constitution	Historical Background of Indian Constitution
Important Acts in India	Constituent Assembly Debates

The following table gives the Parts of the Indian Constitution.

Part	Subject Matter	Articles
I	The Union and its territory	1 – 4
П	Citizenship	5 – 11
III	Fundamental Rights	12 – 35
IV	Directive Principles of State Policy	36 – 51
V	The Union Government	52 – 151
	Chapter I – The Executive	52 – 78



	Chapter II – Parliament	79 – 122
	Chapter III – Legislative Powers of President	123
	Chapter IV – The Union Judiciary	124 – 147
	Chapter V – Comptroller and Auditor-General of India	148 – 151
	The State Governments	152 – 237
	Chapter I – General	152
1	Chapter II – The Executive	153 – 167
	Chapter III – The State Legislature	168 – 212
	Chapter IV – Legislative Powers of Governor	213
	Chapter V – The High Courts	214 – 232
	Chapter VI – Subordinate Courts	233 – 237
VII	Repealed by the Constitution (7th Amendment) Act, 1956	Article 238 omitted due to the reorganisation of states
VIII	The Union Territories	239 – 242
IX	The Panchayats	243 – 243-O
IX-A	The Municipalities	243-P – 243-ZG
IX-B	The Co-operative Societies	243-ZH – 243-ZT
X	The Scheduled and Tribal Areas	244 – 244-A
XI	Relations between the Union and the States	245 – 263
****	Chapter I – Legislative Relations 245 – 255	245 – 255
XII	Chapter II – Administrative Relations	256 – 263



	Finance, Property, Contracts and Suits	264 – 300-A
XIII	Trade, Commerce and Intercourse within the Territory of India	301 – 307
XIV	Services under the Union and the States	308 – 323
XIV- A	Chapter I – Services	308 – 314
	Chapter II – Public Service Commissions	315 to 323
	Tribunals	323-A – 323-B
XV	Elections	324 – 329-A
XVI	Special Provisions relating to Certain Classes	330 – 342
XVII	Official Language	343 to 351
	Chapter I – Language of the Union	343 – 344
	Chapter II – Regional Languages	345 – 347
	Chapter III – Language of the Supreme Court, High Courts, and so on	348 – 349
	Chapter IV – Special Directives	350 – 351
XVIII	Emergency Provisions	352 – 360
XIX	Miscellaneous	361 – 367
XX	Amendment of the Constitution	368
XXI	Temporary, Transitional and Special Provisions	369 – 392
XXII	Short title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi and Repeals	393 – 395

You can read more on Part XXI of the Constitution in the link.



Parts added by Amendments

Three Parts were added to the Constitution which had 22 Parts at its commencement. Currently, there are 25 Parts to the Indian Constitution.

- Part IV-A was added by the 42nd Amendment (1976) to the Constitution. This Part deals with the Fundamental Duties.
- Part XIV-A was also added by the 42nd Amendment. This Part contains articles on <u>Tribunals</u>.
- Part IX-A was added by the 74th Amendment Act (1992). This Part deals with Municipalities.
- Part IX-B was added by the 97th Amendment Act (2011) and deals with the co-operative societies.
- Part VII (dealing with Part B states) was deleted by the 7th Amendment Act (1956).

