

# Sessions Of Parliament, Prorogation And Dissolution

### **Overview of the Parliament**

The basic overview of the Parliament is highlighted in the table below:

#### Overview of the Parliament of India

Туре	Bicameral	
Houses	Rajya Sabha (Upper house) Lok Sabha (Lower house)	
Founded	26th January 1950	
President	Ram Nath Kovind (Since 25 July 2017)	
Chairman of the Rajya Sabha	Venkaiah Naidu (Since 11 August 2017)	
Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha	Harivansh Narayan Singh (Since 9 August 2018)	
Leader of the Opposition (Rajya Sabha)	Mallikarjun Kharge (Since 16 February 2021)	
Speaker of the Lok Sabha	Om Birla (Since 19 June 2019)	
Leader of the Opposition	Vacant (Since 26 May 2019, No party has 10% Seats)	

# **Sessions of Parliament**

A session of the Indian Parliament is the period during which a House meets almost every day uninterruptedly to manage the business.

- There are typically three sessions in one year.
- A session will have many meetings.
- In general, the sessions are as follows:
  - Budget session (February to May)
  - Monsoon session (July to September)
  - Winter session (November to December)

Further information about the <u>Sessions of the Indian Parliament</u> is available on the linked page.



### **Summoning of Parliament**

- Summoning is the process of calling all members of the Parliament to meet.
- The President summons each House of the Parliament from time to time.
- The gap between two sessions of the Parliament cannot exceed 6 months, which means the Parliament meets at least two times in one year.

# **Adjournment**

An adjournment terminates a sitting of the House.

- The House then meets again at the appointed time for the next sitting.
- The adjournment can be for a few hours, days or weeks, depending on the specified time.
- If the adjournment is done (sitting terminated) without any time scale, it is known as adjournment sine die.
- The power of adjournment sine die is only with the presiding officer of the House.

# **Prorogation**

Prorogation means the end of a session.

- Prorogation implies the end of the sitting as well as the session and not the dissolution of the House.
- Point to note: The Rajya Sabha is not dissolved as it is a permanent House, only the Lok Sabha is dissolved.
- The President can prorogue the House while in session also.
- Generally, the President issues a notice for the session's prorogation a few days after the House is adjourned sine die by the presiding officer of the House.
- All pending notices lapse on the prorogation of the House.
- However, there is no impact on bills upon prorogation.
- The time between prorogation and reassembly is called Recess.

### **Dissolution**

The Lok Sabha is dissolved at the end of its five-year term (automatic dissolution) or by Presidential order. Dissolution **terminates the life of the house**.

- The Rajya Sabha is not dissolved. Its members have a fixed term of 6 years, with a third of its members up for elections every two years.
- When does the President give the order for Lok Sabha's dissolution?



- If authorised by the Council of Ministers, he can give the order even before the end of the five-year term.
- He can also dissolve if the Council of Ministers loses confidence and no party is able to prove majority.
- When the <u>Lok Sabha</u> is dissolved, all business including bills, motions, resolutions, notices, petitions, etc. pending before it or its committees lapse.
- The last session before the Lok Sabha is dissolved is called a Lame Duck session.
- Only the President can dissolve the House.

#### **Points to Note:**

**Prorogation**: Done by the President **Dissolution**: Done by the President

**Adjournment**: Done by Presiding Officer of the House (Speaker/Deputy Speaker in the Lok Sabha; Chairman/Deputy Chairman in the Rajya Sabha)

Check out a few relevant links related to this article to prepare well for the upcoming Civil Services Exams –

Joint Sitting of Both the Houses of Parliament	Functions of Parliament in India	Parliament and State Legislature
<u>Lapsing of bills – Rule of Lapse in</u> <u>Parliament</u>	How a Bill is Passed in Indian Parliament	Private Member Bill of India

Kickstart your **UPSC 2021** Preparation today!

# **Frequently Asked Questions related to Prorogation**

#### What is recess in Parliament?

The time between prorogation and reassembly is called Recess.

### Who can prorogue the session of Parliament?

Prorogation means the termination of a session of the House by an order made by the President under article 85(2)(a) of the Constitution. Generally, the President issues a notice for the session's prorogation a few days after the House is adjourned sine die by the presiding officer of the House. All pending notices lapse on the prorogation of the House. Prorogation implies the end of the sitting as well as the session and not the dissolution of the House.

#### What is the session of the House?

The period during which the House meets to conduct its business is called a session. The Constitution empowers the President to summon each House at such intervals that there should not be more than a six-



month gap between the two sessions. Hence the Parliament must meet at least twice a year.

