

UPSC Preparation

Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014

Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 is an Act of the Indian Parliament that bifurcated the state of Andhra Pradesh into Telangana and the residuary Andhra Pradesh state. The bill was introduced on 5 December 2013, the first day of the winter session in the Legislative Assembly of Andhra Pradesh. The official formation of the 2 separate states was 2nd June 2014. The new state of Telangana was formed with ten districts.

In simple terms, this Act was enacted to provide for the reorganisation of the existing State of Andhra Pradesh and for matters connected therewith.

Which was the Appointed Day Mentioned in the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act 2014?

The appointed day for the new States formation was 02 June 2014. The bifurcation bill received the President's assent on 1st March 2014.

How Many Sections are there in the AP Reorganisation Act 2014?

The Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act 2014 has

- 1. 108 sections and
- 2. 13 Schedules
- 3. 12 Parts

Also, read in detail about the Reorganisation of States on the linked page.

Which Territories are Currently a Part of the Telangana State as Mentioned in the 3rd Section of the AP Reorganisation Act?

The territories that are part of Telangana are:



- 1. Adilabad
- 2. Karimnagar
- 3. Medak
- 4. Nizamabad
- 5. Warangal
- 6. Rangareddi
- 7. Nalgonda
- 8. Mahbubnagar
- 9. Khammam (but excluding the revenue villages in the Mandals)
- 10. Bhurgampadu
- 11. Seetharamanagaram
- 12. Kondreka
- 13. Hyderabad

As mentioned in the AP Reorganisation Act, these territories are not a part of Andhra Pradesh anymore.

Important Highlights of the Reorganisation Act, 2014

- Hyderabad to be the common capital for the States of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh for such period not exceeding ten years.
- After the expiry of the period, Hyderabad shall be the capital of the State of Telangana and there shall be a new capital for the State of Andhra Pradesh.
- The Central Government shall constitute an expert committee to study various alternatives
 regarding the new capital for the successor State of Andhra Pradesh and make appropriate
 recommendations in a period not exceeding six months from the date of enactment of the
 Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.
- On and from the appointed day, the Governor of the existing State of Andhra Pradesh shall be
 the Governor for both the successor States of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana for such period
 as may be determined by the President.
- The provisions of the Act made amendments to the First and Fourth Schedule of the Constitution.
- The number of seats in the **Legislative Assemblies** of the States of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, on and from the appointed day, shall be 175 and 119, respectively.



- There shall be constituted a Legislative Council for each of the successor States, consisting of
 not more than [58 members in the Legislative Council of Andhra Pradesh] and 40 members in
 the Legislative Council of Telangana, in accordance with the provisions contained in article 169
 of the Constitution.
- The existing Legislative Council of the State of Andhra Pradesh shall, on and from the
 appointed day, be deemed to have been constituted as two Legislative Councils of the
 successor States and the existing members shall be allotted to the Councils as specified in the
 Fourth Schedule.
- On and from the appointed day, the High Court of Judicature at Hyderabad shall be the common High Court for the State of
 - Telangana and the State of Andhra Pradesh till a separate High Court for the State of Andhra Pradesh is constituted under article 214 of the Constitution.
- The principal seat of the High Court of Andhra Pradesh shall be at such place as the President may, by notified order, appoint.