

List of Indian State Animals

India is a country rich in biodiversity and various animal species are found across the Indian states and union territories. In this article, we shall discuss the list of animals that are the symbols for the 28 states and 8 Union Territories.

State-wise List of Animals in India

India is a biodiverse country and contains various kinds of species. The list below shows India's State animals:

S.No.	States	Animal
1	Andhra Pradesh	Blackbuck
2	Arunachal Pradesh	Mithun
3	Assam	Indian One-horned Rhino
4	Bihar	Gaur
5	Chhattisgarh	Wild Buffalo
6	Goa	Gaur
7	Gujarat	Asiatic Lion
8	Haryana	Blackbuck
9	Himachal Pradesh	Snow Leopard
10	Jharkhand	Elephant
11	Karnataka	Elephant
12	Kerala	Elephant
13	Madhya Pradesh	Swamp Deer (Barasingha)
14	Maharashtra	Giant Squirrel
15	Manipur	Sangai
16	Meghalaya	Clouded Leopard
17	Mizoram	Serow
18	Nagaland	Mithun
19	Odisha	Sambhar deer
20	Punjab	Blackbuck
21	Rajasthan	Chinkara



22	Sikkim	Red Panda
23	Tamil Nadu	Nilgiri Tahr
24	Telangana	Spotted Deer (Jinka)
25	Tripura	Phayre'sLangur
26	Uttarakhand	Musk Deer
27	Uttar Pradesh	Swamp Deer (Barasingha)
28	West Bengal	Fishing cat

S.No.	Union Territories	Animal
1	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	Dugong
2	Chandigarh	Indian grey Mongoose
3	Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu	-
4	Lakshadweep	Butterfly Fish
5	Puducherry	Squirrel
6	Ladakh	Snow Leopard
7	Jammu and Kashmir	Kashmir stag
8	The Government of NCT of Delhi	Nilgai