

Arjun Award - List of Arjuna Award Winners

Arjuna Award is one of the famous sports awards given to individuals for their exemplary performance in various sports. The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India extends this award.

In this article, candidates will get the list of winners of the Arjuna Awards from 1961 to 2021. Candidates will be able to download the list of Arjuna Award winners PDF which enlists the names of Arjun award recipients.

Arjuna Awards

The Arjuna Award is given to promote sports in India by motivating the sportsperson for their fantastic performance. Given below are the **Important Highlights of the Arjuna Awards:**

Arjuna Award Important Facts		
Name of the Award	Arjuna Award	
Field of the Award	Sports	
Cash Prize	Rs. 15,00,000	
Award Symbol	Bronze Statue of 'Arjuna with his Bow' & Scroll	
Associated Ministry	Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports	
Year of Initiation	1961	

As per the latest guidelines by the government, any sportsperson to become eligible for the Arjuna Award 2020, along with excellent sports performance consistently in the previous four years at the international level should have the excellent qualities of sportsmanship, leadership, and a sense of discipline.

From past few years, the scope Arjuna Award has been expanded, the sportsperson who belongs to the pre-Arjuna Award period their names were also added to the list and apart from this, the number of disciplines for which the award is given is also increased to include indigenous games and the physically handicapped category.

The disciplines for which Arjuna Awards is given are:

Arjuna Awards Discipline



- 1. Archery
- 2. Athletics
- 3. Badminton/Ball Badminton
- 4. Basketball
- 5. Billiards & Snooker
- 6. Boxing
- 7. Carrom
- 8. Chess
- 9. Cricket
- 10. Cycling
- 11. Equestrian
- 12. Football
- 13. Golf
- 14. Gymnastics
- 15. Hockey
- 16. Motorsports

- 1. Judo
- 2. Kabaddi
- 3. Mountaineering
- 4. Roller Skating
- 5. Rowing
- 6. Polo
- 7. Shooting
- 8. Squash
- 9. Swimming
- 10. Table Tennis
- 11. Vollevball
- 12. Weightlifting
- 13. Wrestling
- 14. Wushu
- 15. Yachting
- 16. Bodybuilding

History of Arjun Awards

The First Arjuna award was given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports in 1961. A total of twenty sportsmen belonging to different sports categories had earned the Arjun Award in 1961.

The table below shows the list of Arjuna Award Winners 1961:

List of Arjuna Awardees 1961

- 1. Shri G.S. Randhawa Athletics
- 2. Shri Nandu M. Natekar -Badminton
- 3. Shri Sarabjit Singh -Basketball
- 4. Shri "Buddy" D' Suza -Boxing
- 5. Shri Manuel Aaron -Chess
- 6. Shri Saleem Durrani -Cricket
- 7. Shri P.K. Banerjee Football
- 8. Capt. P.G. Sethi Golf
- 9. Shri Sham Lal -Gymnastics
- 10. Shri Prithipal Singh -Hockey (Men)

- Kumari Ann Lumsden Hockey (Women)
- 2. Shri Prem Singh -Polo
- 3. Shri Karani Singh -Shooting
- 4. Capt. K.S. Jain -Squash Rackets
- 5. Jam. Bajrangi Prasad -Swimming
- 6. Shri J.C. Vora -Table Tennis
- 7. Shri R. Krishnan -Tennis
- 8. Shri A. Palaniswamy -Volleyball
- 9. Shri A.N. Ghosh -Weightlifting
- 10. Havaldar Udey Chand Wrestling

List of Arjuna Award Winners (2021-2017)

Candidates can go through the list of Arjuna Award recipients in 2021 and previous years. Also, candidates are advised to download the Arjuna Award Winners PDF list for the names of the winners from the start till 2021.

Arjuna Award Winners 2021



Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
Arpinder Singh	Athletics
Simranjit Kaur	Boxing
Shikhar Dhawan	Cricket
Bhavani Devi Chadalavada Anandha Sundhararaman	Fencing
Monika	Hockey
Vandana Katariya	Hockey
Sandeep Narwal	Kabaddi
Himani Uttam Parab	Mallakhamb
Abhishek Verma	Shooting
Ankita Raina	Tennis
Deepak Punia	Wrestling
Dilpreet Singh	Hockey
Harman Preet Singh	Hockey
Rupinder Pal Singh	Hockey
Surender Kumar	Hockey
Amit Rohidas	Hockey
Birendra Lakra	Hockey
Sumit	Hockey
Nilakanta Sharma	Hockey
Hardik Singh	Hockey
Vivek Sagar Prasad	Hockey
Gurjant Singh	Hockey
Mandeep Singh	Hockey



Shamsher Singh	Hockey
Lalit Kumar Upadhyay	Hockey
Varun Kumar	Hockey
Simranjeet Singh	Hockey
YogeshKathuniya	Para Athletics
Nishad Kumar	Para Athletics
Praveen Kumar	Para Athletics
SuhashYathiraj	Para Badminton
SinghrajAdhana	Para Shooting
Bhavina Patel	Para Table Tennis
Harvinder Singh	Para Archery
Sharad Kumar	Para Athletics

	Arjuna Award Winners 2020		
Year	Category	Arjuna Awardees	
2020	Archery	Shri Atanu Das	
	Athletics	Ms Dutee Chand	
	Badminton	Shri Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy	
	Badminton	Shri Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty	
	Basketball	Shri Vishesh Bhriguvanshi	
	Boxing	Subedar Manish Kaushik	
	Boxing	Ms Lovlina Borgohain	
	Cricket	Shri Ishant Sharma	
	Cricket	Ms Deepti Sharma	
	Equestrian	Shri Sawant Ajay Anant	



Football	Shri Sandesh Jhingan
Golf	Ms Aditi Ashok
Hockey	Shri Akashdeep Singh
Hockey	Ms Deepika
Kabaddi	Shri Deepak
Kho Kho	Shri Kale Sarika Sudhakar
Rowing	Shri Dattu Baban Bhokanal
Shooting	Ms Manu Bhaker
Shooting	Shri Saurabh Chaudhary
Table Tennis	Ms Madhurika Suhas Patkar
Tennis	Shri Divij Sharan
Winter Sports	Shri Shiva Keshavan
Wrestling	Ms Divya Kakran
Wrestling	Shri Rahul Aware
Para-Swimming	Shri Suyash Narayan Jadhav
Para Athletics	Shri Sandeep
Para Shooting	Shri Manish Narwal

Arjuna Award Winners 2019 to 2017		
Year	Category	Name
2019 Arjuna Award Winners		
2019	Athletics	Sundar Singh Gurjar (Para Athlete)
	Athletics	Swapna Barman
	Athletics	Tajinder Pal Singh
	Athletics	Mohammed Anas Yahiya



	Badminton	Pramod Bhagat (Para Athlete)
	Badminton	Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth
	Boxing	Sonia Lather
	Cricket	Ravindra Jadeja
	Cricket	Poonam Yadav
	Equestrian	Fouad Mirza
	Football	Gurpreet Singh Sandhu
	Hockey	Chinglensana Kangujam
	Kabaddi	Ajay Thakur
	Polo	Simran Singh Shergill
	Shooting	Anjum Moudgil
	Table Tennis	Harmeet Desai
	Wrestling	Pooja Dhanda
		Arjuna Award Winners 2018
2018	Athletics	Ankur Dhama (Para Athlete)
	Athletics	Neeraj Chopra
	Athletics	Hima Das
	Athletics	Jinson Johnson
	Badminton	Sikki Reddy
	Cricket	Virat Kohli
	Golf	Shubhankar Sharma
	Hockey	Manpreet Singh
	Hockey	Savita Punia
	Kabaddi	G.Pranav sai reddy



	Lawn Tennis	Rohan Bopanna
	Polo	Ravi Rathore
	Shooting	Shreyasi Singh
	Shooting	Ankur Mittal
	Shooting	Rahi Sarnobat
	Table Tennis	Manika Batra
	Table Tennis	Sathiyan Gnanasekaran
	Wrestling	Sumit Malik
	Wushu	Pooja Kadian
2017 Arjuna Award Recipients		
2017	Archery	Vennam Jyothi Surekha
	Athletics	Khushbir Kaur
	Athletics	Arokia Rajiv
	Athletics	Mariyappan Thangavelu (Para Athlete)
	Athletics	Varun Bhati (Para Athlete)
	Basketball	Prashanti Singh
	Boxing	Laishram Debendro Singh
	Cricket	Cheteshwar Pujara
	Cricket	Harmanpreet Kaur
	Football	Oinam Bembem Devi
	golf	Shiv Shankar Prasad Chawrasia
	Hockey	Somwarpet Vittalacharya Sunil
	Kabaddi	Jasvir Singh