

Cricket World Cup Winners List

Cricket World Cup is one of the biggest sports events held across the world and is organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after an interval of every four years.

It is a premium One Day International (ODI) Cricket tournament organised and administered Internationally and also the most prestigious among the various sports played across the world.

ICC World Cup Winners - Men

The next Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be held in 2023 in India.

The table given below gives the list of 50 overs ICC Men's World Cup Winners along with the runner ups and Hosts for each year the event was organised:

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Winners – 50 Overs					
Year	World Cup Winner	Runners Up	Host	Finals Venue	
1975	West Indies	Australia	England	Lord's Cricket Ground, London	
1979	West Indies	England	England	Lord's Cricket Ground, London	
1983	India	West Indies	England	Lord's Cricket Ground, London	
1987	Australia	England	India & Pakistan	Eden Gardens, Kolkata	
1992	Pakistan	England	Australia & New Zealand	Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne	
1996	Sri Lanka	Australia	India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka	Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore	
1999	Australia	Pakistan	England	Lord's Cricket Ground, London	
2003	Australia	India	Australia	Wanderers, Johannesburg	
2007	Australia	Sri Lanka	West Indies	Kensington Oval, Bridgetown	



2011	India	Sri Lanka	India	Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
2015	Australia	New Zealand	Australia	Melbourne Cricket Ground
2019	England	New Zealand	England	Lord's, London
2023	_	_	India	_

The first-ever T20 Cricket World Cup was held in India and India won the first-ever 20 overs World Cup in 2007. Given below is the list of winners and runner ups for the ICC T20 World Cup.

ICC World Cup T20 was initially scheduled for 2020 but due to the pandemic situation was postponed to 2021. Also, due to the bio-bubble restrictions and COVID protocols, the tournament was held in UAE, instead of India.

T20 World Cup Winners List - Men					
Year	Winner	Runners Up	Host	Finals Venue	
2007	India	Pakistan	South Africa	Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg	
2009	Pakistan	Sri Lanka	England	Lord's, London	
2010	England	Australia	West Indies	Kensington Oval, Bridgetown	
2012	West Indies	Sri Lanka	Sri Lanka	R. Premadasa Stadium	
2014	Sri Lanka	India	Bangladesh	Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka	
2016	West Indies	England	India	Eden Gardens, Kolkata	
2020 [Postponed]	_	_	Australia	_	
2021	Australia	New Zealand	India	Dubai International Stadium	



ICC World Cup History & Evolution: The first-ever Cricket World Cup was played in 1975 with a series of One Day matches for 60 overs each in England. This event is also known as the "Flagship event of the International Cricket Calendar."

Initially, 50 overs one-day matches were played and it was the "ICC Men's World Cup" and over the passage of time, a new format of the World cup was introduced which was called the "ICC T20 World Cup", in which 20 overs one matches were played.

So currently, the 50 overs world cup is organised after every four years and the T20 world cup is organised after every 2 years.

ICC World Cup Winners - Women

The International Women's World cup tournament is similar to the Men's world cup. It started with the 60 overs One Day Matches tournament and then with time T20 Women's world cup was also introduced.

Given below is the list of Cricket World Cup winners for Women's 50/60 overs tournament along with the runner-up's name and host countries:

Women's World Cup Winners List – 50 Overs				
Year	Winner	Runners Up	Host	Finals Venue
1973	England	Australia	England	Edgbaston
1978	Australia	England	India	Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad
1982	Australia	England	New Zealand	Lancaster Park, Christchurch
1988	Australia	England	Australia	Melbourne Cricket Ground
1993	England	New Zealand	England	London
1997	Australia	New Zealand	India	Eden Gardens, Kolkata
2000	New Zealand	Australia	New Zealand	Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln
2005	Australia	India	South Africa	SuperSport Park, Centurion



2009	England	New Zealand	Australia	North Sydney Oval, Sydney
2013	Australia	West Indies	India	Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
2017	England	India	England	Lord's, London
2022	_	_	New Zealand	_

The T20 World Cup Tournament for Women is next scheduled to be conducted in 2022 in South Africa. Given below is the list of ICC Women's World Cup Winners List for the T20 tournaments conducted till date:

Wome	Women's T20 World Cup Winners List				
Year	Winner	Runners Up	Host	Finals Venue	
2009	England	New Zealand	England	North Sydney Oval	
2010	Australia	New Zealand	West Indies	Warner Park Sporting Complex, Saint Kitts	
2012	Australia	England	Sri Lanka	R. Premadasa Stadium	
2014	Australia	England	Bangladesh	Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka	
2016	West Indies	Australia	India	Eden Gardens, India	
2018	Australia	England	West Indies	Sir Vivian Richards Stadium	
2020	Australia	India	Australia	Melbourne Cricket Ground	
2022	_	_	South Africa	_	