

Reorganization of States

The States Reorganisation Act, 1956 reformed the boundaries of Indian states and territories, systematizing them on language base. The newly drafted Constitution of India, which came into force on 26 January 1950, distinguished states into four main types. This article briefly shares details on the different types of states as classified in the Constitution of India.

States – Classification into 4 Types

UPSC may ask some questions based on states reorganization for IAS Exam as it is important. History is an unavoidable part of civil services exam and governance as we extract lessons from history. The history not only talks about the freedom struggle, it gives us a gist of the ancient administrative system.

Four main types of states are:

- 1. Part A states
- 2. Part B states
- 3. Part C States
- 4. Part D states

Part A States

- 1. The former governors' provinces of British India
- 2. These states were ruled by an elected governor and state legislature.
- 3. Part A states were Bombay, Madras, Assam, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh (earlier Central Provinces and Berar), Punjab (earlier East Punjab), Uttar Pradesh (earlier the United Provinces), Orissa, and West Bengal.

Part B States

- 1. These were former princely states or groups of princely states
- 2. These states were governed by a Rajpramukh
- 3. Rajpramukh is the ruler of a constituent state and an elected legislature.
- 4. He was appointed by the President of India.
- 5. Part B states were Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU), Hyderabad, Jammu and Kashmir, Travancore-Cochin. Madhya Bharat, Mysore, Rajasthan, and Saurashtra.

Part C States

- 1. It comprised both the former chief commissioners' provinces and some princely states,
- 2. These states were governed by a chief commissioner
- 3. The chief commissioner was appointed by the President of India.
- 4. Part C states were Ajmer, Bhopal, Bilaspur, Coorg, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, Cutch, Manipur, Tripura, and Vindhya Pradesh.

https://byjus.com



Part D States

- 1. This state was administered a lieutenant governor appointed by the central government.
- 2. Part D state consists of Andaman and Nicobar Islands only

Candidates can refer to the Previous Year's <u>Questions on Constitution of India in UPSC Mains GS 2</u>, from the linked article.

Frequently Asked Questions related to Reorganization of States

Why was the States Reorganization Commission formed?

At the time of independence in 1947, India had more than 500 disjointed princely states. Temporarily the constituent units of India were divided into Part A, B, C, and D states. Hence State Reorganization was constituted by the Government of India on 29 December 1953 to look into the matter of redrawing the boundaries of States. One of the most popular demands was to reorganize the states based on languages, this was done to make administration easier and to replace controversial caste and religion-based identities with less controversial linguistic identities. The State reorganization commission consisted of H N Kunzru, Fazal Ali and K M Panikkar.

On what basis were Indian states Reorganised after Independence?

Soon after independence, 571 princely states were reorganised and merged together to form 27 states. This reorganization was done based on political and historical considerations. This reorganization of states was done on a temporary basis. The State Reorganization Commission formed in 1953 gave its report in 1955 to reorganize states into 16 states and 3 union territories. The Government divided the country into 14 states and 6 union territories under the State Reorganization Act that was passed in November 1956. The State Reorganization Commission recommended that "it is neither possible nor desirable to reorganise States on the basis of the single test of either language or culture, but that a balanced approach to the whole problem is necessary in the interest of our national unity." Later when the states were reorganizing states on the basis of language would not only help in ease of administration but also the development of vernacular languages which was ignored by the British. Even cultural affiliations were taken into account, for example, Nagaland was created taking into account tribal affiliations. In the recent past, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand were created for better economic development in the respective regions.

Which was the First State of Independent India?

Andhra State was the first state of Independent India. Andhra Pradesh was formed on 1st November 1956.