

Chief Election Commissioners of India

Chief Election Commissioner heads the election commission of India. The election commission of India conducts the election for the centre and state legislature and of the President and Vice president.

Article 324 lists the powers and functions of the Election Commission of India. Chief Election Commissioner is appointed by the President and can only be voted out by $\frac{2}{3}$ of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members together.

The salary of the Chief Election Commission is the same as the supreme court Judge which is close to 2.5 lakh per month.

The Chief Election Commissioner of India has a tenure of 6 years or 65 years, whichever is earlier.

Chief Election Commissioner of India (CEC) is usually a member of the Indian Civil Service and mostly from the Indian Administrative Service.

List of Chief Election Commissioners of India

Chief Election Commissioners of India	Tenure
Sukumar Sen	21 March 1950 – 19 December 1958
Kalyan Sundaram	20 December 1958 – 30 September 1967
S. P. Sen Verma	1 October 1967 – 30 September 1972
Nagendra Singh	1 October 1972 – 6 February 1973
T. Swaminathan	7 February 1973 – 17 June 1977
S.L. Shakdher	18 June 1977 – 17 June 1982
R.K Trivedi	18 June 1982 – 31 December 1985
R.V.S Peri Sastri	1 January 1986 – 25 November 1990
V.S. Ramadevi	26 November 1990 – 11 December 1990
T.N Seshan	12 December 1990 – 11 December 1996
M.S Gill	12 December 1996 – 13 June 2001
James Michael Lyngdoh	14 June 2001 – 7 February 2004
T. S. Krishnamurthy	8 February 2004 – 15 May 2005



16 May 2005 – 29 June 2006
30 June 2006 – 20 April 2009
21 April 2009 – 29 July 2010
30 July 2010 - 10 June 2012
11 June 2012 – 15 January 2015
16 January 2015 – 18 April 2015
19 April 2015 – 5 July 2017
6 July 2017 – 22 January 2018
23 January 2018 - 1 December 2018
2 December 2018 – 12 April 2021
13 April 2021 - Incumbent

Election Commissioner- Salient Points

- V. S Ramadevi was the first woman to become the Chief Election Commissioner of India.
- State Election Commissioner is appointed by the Governor.

Election Commission of India

The election commission of India is an autonomous constitutional entity responsible for conducting elections at the national, state and district levels.

The powers of the Election Commission of India are defined in article 324 of the constitution. The Election Commission was established in 1950.

The commission secretariat is based in New Delhi which includes the Election Commissioners, Deputy Election Commissioners (usually IAS officers) Directors General, Principal Secretaries, Secretaries and Under Secretaries.

The Election Commission of India launched its own website on 28 February 1998 in order to provide accurate information related to the elections held.