

Sahitya Akademi Awards – UPSC Notes

On December 30, 2021, the Sahitya Akademi Award 2021 was given for literary works in <u>20 Indian</u> <u>languages</u>. Namita Gokhale received the award for her novel <u>'Things to Leave Behind'</u> and Anuradha Sarma Pujari for her Assamese novel <u>'Ivat Ekhan Aaronya Asil'</u>.

Along with the **Sahitya Akademi Awards, Yuva Puraskar and Bal Sahitya Puraskar** for 2021 were also announced. Awards in <u>Gujarati, Maithili,- Manipuri & Urdu languages</u> will be announced at a later date.

Sahitya Akademi Award 2022 has not been declared yet.

Facts about the Sahitya Akademi Awards

- Sahitya Akademi Award is also known as the Sahitya Akademi Main Award.
- It was first conferred in 1955.
- It is conferred annually on 24 writers for their outstanding original literary works published in 24
 Indian languages recognised by the Akademi.
- The award is considered the most prestigious literary award in India.

Sahitya Akademi

- Sahitya Akademi is India's National Academy of Letters.
- The Government of India established the Sahitya Akademi on **12 March 1954**.
- Sahitya Akademi was set up by the Government but functions as an <u>autonomous</u> organisation.
- On <u>7 January 1956</u>, it was registered as a society under <u>the Societies Registration Act</u>. <u>1860</u>.
- Sahitya Akademi has recognised <u>English and Rajasthani</u> apart from the 22 languages enumerated in the Indian Constitution.



General Rules and Eligibility Criteria for the Sahitya Akademi Award

- The book must be a <u>remarkable contribution</u> to the language and literature to which it belongs.
- The literary work or book should be first published in any of the languages recognised by the Sahitya Akademi <u>during the five years prior to the year</u>, immediately preceding the year of <u>the award</u>.
- The literary work should be written by an Indian and published in India.
- The book or literary work <u>should not be</u> a work of translation or an anthology of multiple authors
- When two or more books are equally good, the total literary contribution and standing of the <u>authors of the books</u> will be considered to decide the award.

Sahitya Akademi Award Winners 2021

The list of winners from each category of the Sahitya Akademi Award winners 2021 is given below, and it will be helpful for UPSC 2022:

Language	Title and Genre	Name of the Author
Assamese	Iyat Ekhan Aaronya Asil (Novel)	Anuradha Sarma Pujari
Bengali	Mitjafar O Ananya Natale (Play)	Bratya Basu
Bodo	Khora Sayao Arw Himalay (Poetry)	Mwdai Gahai



Dogri	Namme Tunnel (Short Stories)	Raj Rahi
English	Things to Leave Behind (Novel)	Namita Gokhale
Hindi	Samrat Ashok (Play)	Daya Prakash Sinha
Kannada	Gandhi Kathana (Biography)	D.S. Nagabhushana
Kashmiri	Tawazun (Criticism)	Wali Mohd. Aseer Kashtawari
Malayalam	Hrudayaragangal (Autobiography)	George Onakkoor
Marathi	Baluchya Awasthantarachi Diary (Short Stories)	Kiran Gurav
Nepali	Usha Anirudha (Epic Poetry)	Chhabilal Upadhyaya
Odia	Sarijaithiba Apera (Poetry)	Hrushikesh Mallick



Punjabi	Sullan Da Salan (short Stories)	Khalid Hussain
Rajasthani	Mugtee (Poetry)	Meethesh Nirmohi
Sanskrit	Srijati Shankhnadam Kil, Kavita (Poetry)	Vindeshwariprasad Mishr 'Vinay'
Santali	Mane Rena Arhang (Short Stories)	Niranjan Hansda
Sindhi	Nena Nindakhra (Poetry)	Arjun Chawla
Tamil	Civappuk Kazuttu Tan Oru Paccaip Paravai (Short Stories)	Ambai
Telugu	Vallankitaalam (Poetry)	Gorati Venkanna
Konkani	Raktachandan (Poetry)	Sanjiv Verenkar





https://byjus.com