

Thomas Cup

In the final in Bangkok, a resolute Indian men's team carved its mark on history by winning the Thomas Cup for the first time ever, defeating 14 times winners Indonesia by 3-0. India put on a show to remember, with medalist Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, as well as the worldwide number 8 doubles combo of Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy putting on an unforgettable game.

About Thomas Cup

The Thomas Cup, also known as the World Men's Team Championships, is a global badminton tournament held every two years between teams representing member countries of the Badminton World Federation (BWF), the sport's regulatory body. Since 1982, the tournaments have been contested every 2 years, having previously been held every 3 years since its first event in 1948–1949. The championship's final stage has 12 teams participating at locations in the host country, and it runs simultaneously with the Uber Cup (initially held in 1956–1957), the global women's team championship. The two Competitions have been played together at various levels of play from 1984. With regards to player and fan engagement, the Thomas Cup and, to a smaller extent, the Uber Cup are two of the world's "largest" and most renowned regularly organised badminton competitions.

Just six nations have lifted the Thomas Cup in the 30 competitions contested since 1948–1949. With 14 victories, Indonesia is by far the most victorious team. China, which did not start competing until 1982, is in second place with ten championships, while Malaysia has five. After defeating Malaysia 3–2 in the 2014 final, Japan has become the fourth nation to lift the Thomas Cup. After defeating Indonesia 3–2 in the 2016 final, Copenhagen became the first European and fifth country to win the Thomas Cup. The tournament was won for the very first time by a non-Asian team. India is the current title holder, having won the very first championship in 2022 after defeating defending champions Indonesia by 3-0.

Thomas Cup Winners

Year	Host	Winner
1949	Preston, England	Malaya
1952	Singapore	Malaya
1955	Singapore	Malaya
1958	Singapore	Indonesia
1961	Jakarta, Indonesia	Indonesia



1964	Tokyo, Japan	Indonesia
1967	Jakarta, Indonesia	Malaysia
1970	Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia	Indonesia
1973	Jakarta, Indonesia	Indonesia
1976	Bangkok, Thailand	Indonesia
1979	Jakarta, Indonesia	Indonesia
1982	London, England	China
1984	Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia	Indonesia
1986	Jakarta, Indonesia	China
1988	Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia	China
1990	Tokyo, Japan	China
1992	Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia	Malaysia
1994	Jakarta, Indonesia	Indonesia
1996	Hong Kong	Indonesia
1998	Hong Kong SAR, China	Indonesia
2000	Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia	Indonesia





2002	Guangzhou, China	Indonesia
2004	Jakarta, Indonesia	China
2006	Sendai and Tokyo, Japan	China
2008	Jakarta, Indonesia	China
2010	Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia	China
2012	Wuhan, China	China
2014	New Delhi, India	Japan
2016	Kunshan, China	Denmark
2018	Bangkok, Thailand	China
2020	Aarhus, Denmark	Indonesia
2022	Bangkok, Thailand	India

Ranked Winners

Team	Years	Number of Times
Indonesia	• 1958	14
	• 1961	
	• 1964	
	• 1970	
	• 1973	
	• 1976	
	• 1979	
	• 1984	
	• 1994	
	• 1996	



	 1998 2000 2002 2020 		
China	 1982 1986 1988 1990 2004 2006 2008 2010 2012 2018 	10	
Malaysia	 1949 1952 1955 1967 1992 	5	
Denmark	• 2016	1	
Japan	• 2014	1	
India	• 2022	1	

https://byjus.com