

List of Indian Army Generals

The list of the Chief of Army Staff in India is given in the table below:

List of Indian Army Generals - Chief of Army Staff				
S.No.	Name	Rank	Tenure	Unit of Commission
1	General Sir Robert Lockhart	Commander-in-Chief	15 Aug 1947 to 31st Dec 1947	_
2	General Francis Robert Roy Bucher	Commander-in-Chief	21 June 1948 - 15 January 1949	Scottish Rifles
3	Field Marshal Kodandera Madappa Cariappa	Commander-in-Chief	16 January 1949 – 14 January 1953	Rajput Rifles
4	General Maharaj Rajendrasinhji Jadeja	Commander-in-Chief	15 January 1953 – 1 April 1955	2nd Lancers (Gardner's Horse)
5	General Maharaj Rajendrasinhji Jadeja	Chief of Army Staff	1 April 1955 – 14 May 1955	2nd Lancers (Gardner's



				Horse)
6	General Satyawant Mallana Sringesh	Chief of Army Staff	15 May 1955 - 7 May 1957	19th Hyderabad Regiment
7	General Kodandera Subayya Thimayya	Chief of Army Staff	8 May 1957 – 7 May 1961	19th Hyderabad Regiment
8	General Pran Nath Thapar	Chief of Army Staff	8 May 1961 – 19 November 1962	1st Punjab Regiment
9	General Jayanto Nath Chaudhuri	Chief of Army Staff	20 November 1962 – 7 June 1966	7th Light Cavalry
10	General Paramasiva Prabhakar Kumaramangalam	Chief of Army Staff	8 June 1966 – 7 June 1969	Regiment of Artillery
11	Field Marshal Sam Hormusji Framji Jamshedji Manekshaw	Chief of Army Staff	8 June 1969 – 15 January 1973	12th Frontier Force Regiment



12	General Gopal Gurunath Bewoor	Chief of Army Staff	16 January 1973 – 31 May 1975	Dogra Regiment
13	General Tapishwar Narain Raina	Chief of Army Staff	1 June 1975 – 31 May 1978	Kumaon Regiment
14	General Om Prakash Malhotra	Chief of Army Staff	1 June 1978 – 31 May 1981	Regiment of Artillery
15	General Kotikalapudi Venkata Krishna Rao	Chief of Army Staff	1 June 1981 – 31 July 1983	Mahar Regiment
16	General Arun Kumar Shridhar Vaidya	Chief of Army Staff	1 August 1983 - 31 January 1986	9th Deccan Horse
17	General Krishnaswamy Sundarji	Chief of Army Staff	1 February 1986 – 31 May 1988	Mahar Regiment
18	General Ashwa Nath Sharma	Chief of Army Staff	1 June 1988 – 30 June 1990	16th Light Cavalry
19	General Sunith Francis Rodrigues	Chief of Army Staff	1 July 1990 – 30 June 1993	Regiment of Artillery



20	General Bipin Chandra Joshi	Chief of Army Staff	1 July 1993 – 19 November 1994	64th Cavalry
21	General Shankar Roy Chowdhary	Chief of Army Staff	20 November 1994 – 30 September 1997	20th Lancers
22	General Ved Prakash Malik	Chief of Army Staff	1 October 1997 – 30 September 2000	Sikh Light Infantry
23	General Sundarajan Padmanabhan	Chief of Army Staff	1 October 2000 – 31 December 2002	Regiment of Artillery
24	General Nirmal Chander Vij	Chief of Army Staff	1 January 2003 – 31 January 2005	Dogra Regiment
25	General Joginder Jaswant Singh	Chief of Army Staff	1 February 2005 – 30 September 2007	Maratha Light Infantry



26	General Deepak Kapoor	Chief of Army Staff	1 October 2007 – 31 March 2010	Regiment of Artillery
27	General Vijay Kumar Singh	Chief of Army Staff	1 April 2010 – 31 May 2012	Rajput Regiment
28	General Bikram Singh	Chief of Army Staff	1 June 2012 – 31 July 2014	Sikh Light Infantry
29	General Dalbir Singh Suhag	Chief of Army Staff	1 August 2014 - 31 December 2016	5 Gorkha Rifles
30	General Bipin Rawat	Chief of Army Staff	31 December 2016 – 31 December 2019	11 Gorkha Rifles
31	General Manoj Mukund Naravane	Chief of Army Staff	31 December 2019 – 30 April 2022	7 Sikh Light Infantry
32	General Manoj Pande	Chief of Army Staff	30 April 2022 - Present	Corps of Engineers