

## List of Heads of Important Offices in India

In this article, we give you a list of the most important office-holders in India as of November 2022. We will update this list as and when required. As IAS aspirants, you should be aware of the heads of these important offices in the country, especially from a prelims point of view.

But even in the <u>IAS Mains</u>, you should be able to write the names of the most important offices, as this would reveal that you are up-to-date in current affairs.

On 9 November 2022, Justice D.Y. Chandrachud took charge as the Chief Justice of India (CJI). He succeeded Justice U.U. Lalit.

## **Heads of Important Offices**

Name of the Post	Name of the Officer
Chairman of the Rajya Sabha	Jagdeep Dhankhar (Vice President)
Chief Justice of India (CJI)	Justice D.Y. Chandrachud
Lok Sabha Speaker	Om Birla
Leader of the Lok Sabha	Narendra Modi
Leader of the Rajya Sabha	Shri Piyush Goyal
Pro tem Speaker	Virendra Kumar Khatik
Chief Election Commissioner	Rajiv Kumar
Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG)	Girish Chandra Murmu
Attorney General of India	R. Venkataramani
Cabinet Secretary of India	Rajiv Gauba
Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister	Pramod Kumar Misra
National Security Advisor	Ajit Doval
Home Secretary	Ajay Kumar Bhalla
Finance Secretary	T. V Somanathan
Defence Secretary	Ajay Kumar



Foreign Secretary Vinay Mohan Kwatra

Revenue Secretary Tarun Bajaj

Solicitor General of India Tushar Mehta

Principal Scientific Adviser Ajay Kumar Sood

Chief Economic Advisor Dr. V. Anantha Nageswaran

Vice-chairperson NITI Aayog Suman Bery

Governor, Reserve Bank of India Shaktikanta Das

Central Vigilance Commissioner Suresh N. Patel

Chief Information Commissioner Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha

UN Ambassador (Permanent Representative) Ruchira Kamboj

Director, RAW Samant Goel

Director of the Intelligence Bureau (IB)

Tapan Deka

Director, CBI Subodh Jaiswal

Director-General, NIA Dinkar Gupta

Director-General, National Security Guard M.A. Ganapathy

Chairman, ISRO S. Somanath

Chairman, SEBI Madhabi Puri Buch

Chairperson, Atomic Energy Commission K N Vyas

Chairman, National Commission for Minorities Iqbal Singh Lalpura

Chairman, National Commission for Scheduled Castes Vijay Sampla

Chairperson, National Commission for Women Rekha Sharma

Chairman, National Commission for Backward Classes Bhagwan Lal Sahni

Chairman, Telecom Regulatory Authority of India P D Vaghela

Chairman, 15th Finance Commission of India N K Singh



Chief of the Army Staff

Chief of the Naval Staff

Chief of the Air Staff

General Manoj Pande

Admiral R. Hari Kumar

Air Chief Marshal VR Chaudhari

